Linear capture
A line of men makes only one movement in a turn! In a capture, this movement may be forwards or backwards. If the square in front of a line of men is vacant and the square beyond is occupied by an opponent's piece, the line of men captures by approaching one square, 'touching' the piece with its head.

  • If the piece is a king, it is therewith captured and removed in the same turn.
  • If the piece is a man that is the head of an opposing line of men on the same line, that entire line of men is therewith captured and removed. If it is not the head of an opposing line of men, only the man itself is captured.

Sorry, you need a Java enabled browser to view the Bushka Player! The example shows the maximum line of men that can be captured. White must first pull c5 to c4 to get a two-men line of men on the 4-line. Then he pulls it in front of the black line of men on the e-line.
White cannot move f34 right away because he cannot pull a single man to e4: the black man would have to make a multiple piece capture of the two men on f4 and e2:

1.f34?-d4e3x

Sorry, you need a Java enabled browser to view the Bushka Player! Since a line of men may capture both forwards and backwards, the expression 'the square in front' must be seen within the direction of the move. This one-liner illustrates the point. White sacrifices a man to capture the black line of men backwards.